NYS Education Policy
Who is Responsible in NYS?
How do laws get passed in NYS?
No law may be enacted in New York State unless it has been adopted by the Legislature in bill form. The idea for a bill is submitted to Bill Drafting Commission where it is translated into formal language. Then the bill is introduced, assigned the number it will be known by, and printed.
PASSAGE OF A BILL
After an explanation, discussion, or debate, a vote is taken. If the bill originates in and passes through the New York State Assembly, it is then sent on to the New York State Senate, where it goes through a similar process. Conversely, if a bill originates in and passes through the New York State Senate, it is then sent on to the New York State Assembly. If both houses agree to pass a bill, it is then sent to the Governor for his signature. However, if it is changed, it is returned to the original chamber for agreement to the amendments.
While the Legislature is in session, the Governor has 10 days (not counting Sundays) to sign or veto bills passed by both houses.
*The Governor’s failure to sign or veto a bill within the 10-day period means that it becomes law automatically 3 o Vetoed bills are returned to the house that first passed them, together with a statement of the reason for their disapproval
*If a bill is sent to the Governor when the Legislature is out of session, the rules are different o The Governor has 30 days in which to make a decision, and failure to act (“pocket veto”) has the same effect as a veto
Often it will take many years and several reintroductions before a bill is passed.
SOME ADDITIONAL FACTS
A bill does not have to be introduced in both houses before it can become law. According to the State Constitution, a bill cannot become law “except by the assent of a majority of the members elected to each branch of the Legislature.“ A bill vetoed by the Governor cannot become law without two-thirds of the members elected to each house. The Legislature does not prepare the State Budget o The Governor must present it to the Legislature annually in the middle of January.
EDUCATION TRANSFORMATION ACT of 2015
The current teacher evaluation law dates back to 2015 when Gov. Andrew Cuomo backed a plan in which state test scores could count for as much as half of an educator’s evaluation. Though the law technically remains on the books, the state’s Board of Regents passed a moratorium on the use of grades 3-8 math and English test scores in teacher evaluations. Without further action, the moratorium will expire in 2019.
JANUARY 2019, UPDATE:
A new bill was introduced and passed by both the State Assembly and the State Senate:
–When the moratorium expires in 2019, districts will no longer be FORCED to use the NYS 3-8 assessments for APPR.
–The wording states that districts will not be required, to use the assessments. BUT, districts MUST USE SOMETHING (from an approved list by NYS), a test/average of tests to satisfy the 50% of the teacher evaluation score.
–The NYS Assessments grades 3-8 will still be REQUIRED since this is part of ESSA federal accountability.
- State Ed is in complete control of providing the approved list from which districts must select assessments (many on the list will be Pearson or Questar assessments, among others), or get State Ed permission for an alternative assessment.
- Whatever assessment is used will still be weighted 50% or greater, with the other component being teacher observation.
- Schools are still required to administer the grades 3-8 tests due to ESSA.